Human Neurobiology and Emotional Intelligence: The Five Rights Of Passage To Developing Core Beliefs

Kate White, director of education for the Association for Prenatal and Perinatal Psychology and Health, APPPAH, talks with Robin Grille, Australian psychologist and author of Parenting for a Peaceful World, about the five rites of passage humans face at conception, in utero, at birth, and as infants through age seven. These rites of passage present themselves as basic, neurological needs that, when met, translate into core beliefs that support emotional intelligence. The five rites of passage and resulting core beliefs are:

1. The Right to Exist = “I belong here. It is safe to be me.”
2. The Right to Need = “Life nourishes me.”
3. The Right to Have Support = “It is okay, and not shameful, to ask for help.”
4. The Right to Freedom = “I have the right to be autonomous, to make my own decisions.”
5. The Right to Love = “I can love with my whole being and be loved for my whole being.”

Read Robin Grille’s three part series on Cultivating Emotional Intelligence In Your Child here.

This interview was filmed by Kindred as a part of Robin Grille’s Parenting for a Peaceful World USA Tour in December 2013.

Read Kate White on Kindred here.  Read more about the new APPPAH Educator Certificate Program.

Visit Robin Grille at

Thanks to Keith Reagan Film and Video for filming this interview,

Parent Liberation Project
Find Out More About The Parent Liberation Project
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.