Shame Resilience And Authentic Being In A Shame-Based Culture

Shame Resilience 101 from soundarya on Vimeo.

Shame Resilience Theory Explained:


The grounded theory of Shame Resilience by Brene Brown, Ph.D., LMSW consists of four elements. As Dr. Brown discusses, these elements are not necessarily linear but for the sake of format and easy discussion they will be presented in a linear way.

  1. Recognizing Shame & Triggers
  2. Practicing Critical Awareness
  3. Reaching Out
  4. Speaking Shame

Each part of the process is indispensable but does not necessarily happen in this order. Each step in the shame resilience model is placed on a continuum with dualities represented on each end of the continuum.

About The Project

The “It’s Okay To Not Be Okay” is intended to create awareness about the theory of Shame Resilience. Everyone feels shame about something at some point in their lives. Acknowledging that shame without jeopardizing one’s authenticity is key to a well-rounded personality. Building this resilient spirit toward shame and not allowing it to take over your life is Shame Resilience.

About The Project Creator

soundarya1Soundarya Varma is a graduate student of Journalism at the Michigan State University. She is also a Communication graduate assistant for The MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program at MSU. When not writing or reading, she enjoys spending time with friends and family. A former State News reporter, she is a curious person by nature and loves to learn something new every single day. Her interests lie in writing, storytelling and communications.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.